STAMP Masterclass: CAST Accident Analysis

Learn how you can use STAMP, so you can more effectively control Hazards, prevent Accidents and learn more from real Accidents & near misses.

00

DAYS

00

HOURS

00

MINS

00

SECS

Overview

This online masterclass will explore the principles of STAMP through the use of CAST Accident Analysis in the context of a rail example:

  • Track worker struck by a train at Stoats Nest Junction, United Kingdom: November 2018
CLICK HERE TO CHOOSE A TIME SLOT

Objectives

Get your specific burning questions answered regarding:

  • Systems Theoretic Accident Model & Processes (STAMP)
  • Causal Analysis based on Systems Theory (CAST) Accident Analysis

Resources

This online masterclass is based upon the resources listed below.

Please kindly familiarise yourself with them prior to the event.

Official Investigation Report

Rail Accident Investigation Branch (RAIB) Investigation Report (Report 07/2019)
July 2019 (45 pages):

Related information

 

Not familiar with the rail domain?

If rail is not necessarily your area of interest / expertise, please be assured that this masterclass will be focused on STAMP and the mechanics of CAST Accident Analysis, using the rail example to illustrate key points.

There will be plenty of opportunity to ask questions, as this session will be as open and interactive as possible.

Duration

120 mins, including Questions & Answers

Spaces

Spaces are limited.

Recordings (Video, Audio & Slides)

Recordings (video & mp3) + slidepack will be made available as an upgrade option.

2 x Online Training Sessions / Multiple Time Zones

Note: spaces are limited.

WESTERN TRACK

Saturday Evening
12th December 2020
20:00 GMT (UTC +0)

Honolulu, USA: 10:00 HST (UTC -10)
Los Angeles, USA: 12:00 PST (UTC -8)
Denver, USA: 13:00 MST (UTC -7)
Lima, Peru: 15:00 PET (UTC -5)
Boston, USA: 15:00 EST (UTC -5)
São Paulo, Brazil: 17:00 BRT (UTC -3)
London, United Kingdom: 20:00 GMT (UTC +0)
Geneva, Switzerland: 21:00 CET (UTC +1)

Sunday Morning 13th December
Tokyo, Japan 05:00 JST (UTC +9)
Sydney, Australia: 07:00 AEDT (UTC +11)
Christchurch, New Zealand: 09:00 NZDT (UTC +13)

Register 2000 GMT (Western Track)

EASTERN TRACK

Saturday Morning
12th December 2020
08:00 GMT (UTC +0)

London, United Kingdom: 08:00 GMT (UTC +0)
Geneva, Switzerland: 09:00 CET (UTC +1)
Moscow, Russia: 11:00 MSK (UTC +3)
Dubai, United Arab Emirates: 12:00 GST (UTC +4)
Lahore, Pakistan: 13:00 PKT (UTC +5)
Hong Kong, Hong Kong: 16:00 HKT (UTC +8)
Tokyo, Japan 17:00 JST (UTC +9)
Sydney, Australia: 19:00 AEDT (UTC +11)
Christchurch, New Zealand: 21:00 NZDT (UTC +13)




Register 0800 GMT (Eastern Track)

00

DAYS

00

HOURS

00

MINS

00

SECS

How about access to the recordings?

Unable to make those dates? Order a copy of the recordings, including video, audio mp3 and slidepack for both sessions (over 4 hours of content!). Click the order button below:

Hosted by: Simon P. P. Whiteley, a bold System Safety Engineer / Investigator exploring, pioneering & supporting people using STAMP-based safety assessment & investigation approaches.

"Systems-safety can be a fairly dry topic, whereas Simon's knowledge and smooth delivery made for a very engaging and interactive session. Furthermore, by employing an actual accident scenario, the benefits of the contemporary CAST investigation method were given proper context. Thank-you Simon for an excellent introduction to an important advance in systems-safety."

Martin Allen

"Simon is a passionate dedicated individual motivated to share the potential of the STAMP approach to the greater world. In explaining the fundamentals of control theory applied to safety as well as addressing factors beyond the obvious, he helps to broaden people’s traditional approaches to accident investigation of finding blame. His calm demeanor helps participants wrestle with the concepts without feeling stupid."

Tanya Hewitt

"Simon’s CAST workshop on the Überlingen collision was really well presented, to a high degree of professionalism and rich in detail. I found his introduction to STAMP and the framing of the methods informative and full of valuable practical tips. He is also a skilled facilitator and creates a positive, learning environment where you feel free to ask any question. Simon’s workshops are a must for anyone who applies or is keen to apply system engineering methods."

David Doull
Close

Register your interest in STAMP / STPA / CAST related training & coaching

Remember to check your junk email folder and confirm your email address so you don’t miss out!